Back to Windows

· rm -rf

had to go back, why?

I jump back and forth from Linux to Windows all the time; I get bored easily. I again made the switch last night, but I think I will be staying a bit.. on Windows.

For the past month I have been taking some SANS courses which require me to start and stop various VMs and to be honest, Linux gives me all types of headaches doing this. I get constant crashes and freezes. So, I decided to install Windows again. I hate to say it, but most commercial programs such as VMWare Workstation or Virtualbox work much better on Windows. It's just the way it is and I prefer stability at this point in my life.

A cool thing, to get Windows back on I had to use a restore USB. Because I have an older Surface I had to start with Windows 10. This is lame because you have to go through update hell to get back to Windows 11. But... Microsoft has made it terribly hard, if not impossible to create a local account on Windows 11, but on Windows 10 you can, which I did.

I then proceeded through the above mentioned upgrade hell and was able to retain my local account. Even using the MS App Store I haven't had to log in with Microsoft Credentials. It has been very pleasant and well worth the couple hours of updating. And as stated, my VMs work much better and I also have WSL to add to the arsenal. Well worth it.

Cheers.